DEV Community

Cover image for Wannabe a certified Rockstar developer?
Leonora Der
Leonora Der

Posted on

Wannabe a certified Rockstar developer?

I was on my commute, listening to the latest podcasts, and 86. Lightning Talks starts by CodingBlocks. Suddenly I can hear them singing lines of code.

What? Yes, there is actually a new programming language called Rockstar created by @dylanbeattie. The programs you write are song lyrics, too. How cool is that? :)

I am simply amazed. And here comes the question: why would anyone do something like this? The aswer:

Mainly because if we make Rockstar a real (and completely pointless) programming language, then recruiters and hiring managers won't be able to talk about 'rockstar developers' any more.

OMG! Hilarious. I want to be a Rockstar developer!

The specification of the language was uploaded to GitHub, check it out here.

It is changing very often, however there is a sample FizzBuzz written in Rockstar:

Midnight takes your heart and your soul
While your heart is as high as your soul
Put your heart without your soul into your heart

Give back your heart


Desire is a lovestruck ladykiller
My world is nothing 
Fire is ice
Hate is water
Until my world is Desire,
Build my world up
If Midnight taking my world, Fire is nothing and Midnight taking my world, Hate is nothing
Shout "FizzBuzz!"
Take it to the top

If Midnight taking my world, Fire is nothing
Shout "Fizz!"
Take it to the top

If Midnight taking my world, Hate is nothing
Say "Buzz!"
Take it to the top

Whisper my world
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This is pure genious! My favourite part is how you can compose poetic number literals: Here is the first few digits of π:

My dreams were ice. A life unfulfilled; wakin' everybody up, taking booze and pills
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Here is my very first program:

Leah is in it 
Young is too optimistic

If Leah is greater than Young
Whisper "you're a bit old"
Else 
Shout "you are still very young"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

What will be the very first line of Rockstar code you write?

But here is the topping. In the ideas section, it is mentioned, that we should create 'Certified Rockstar Developer' stickers and give them out to anybody who can write even one line of Rockstar. What do you think?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
mxl profile image
Maria Boldyreva • Edited

Wow, what a style, it'll be fun looking into it. And it would be great to have a sticker :D

Collapse
 
tedhagos profile image
Ted Hagos

"Mainly because if we make Rockstar a real (and completely pointless) programming language, then recruiters and hiring managers won't be able to talk about 'rockstar developers' any more."

Collapse
 
dianawebdev profile image
Diana

This is so great.

Collapse
 
numsimb profile image
GaL

Chuck Norris 's right
Life 's allright
Put Life into Somebody
If Chuck Norris ain't nobody
Knock Life down
Meaning was thrown
Shout Meaning of Life

Collapse
 
txai profile image
Txai

Hahaha great idea. They should make a Jedi and a Ninja language. Ninja could be a fork of the Whitespace language