DEV Community

Level-up Engineering

Guide to Leadership and Work-Life Balance for You and Your Team

Interview with Dylan Hansen, Senior Director of Engineering Enablement and Engagement at Salesforce. He talks about leadership and work-life balance, telling stories and tips about improving it in your own life, and supporting your team in achieving a better work-life awareness as well.

Sign up to the Level-up Engineering newsletter!

In this interview we're covering:

  • The definition of work-life balance
  • The process of improving work-life balance in leadership
  • Strategies for a healthy work-life balance in leadership
  • Using a sabbatical to improve work-life balance
  • Work-life balance tips for new managers
  • Spotting the signs of burnout in a remote environment
  • Helping your team improve work-life balance
  • Asking your team to sacrifice from work-life balance
  • Action plan for employees failing to hit deadlines

Excerpt from the interview:

"When I came back from my sabbatical, I decided to set guardrails around my work time, and I wouldn’t check any work email before 7:00 AM or after 5:30 PM. When I was done, I shut down my laptop and picked it up the next day.

This started making me anxious when at 5:00 PM, I found myself with more to do and in the flow, so I knew I could get it all done by 6:00 PM. That goes 30 minutes beyond my pre-set stopping time. These situations made me go through a lot of mental gymnastics.

As I examined the situation, I realized that boundaries are great, but you have to be able to flex them to fit in an extra 30 minutes when necessary. You have to be able to make yourself available for irregular events on both sides of the work-life balance."

Click here to read the full interview!

Episode source