DEV Community

lfriedrichs
lfriedrichs

Posted on

First Post!!!

I've started the software engineering immersive bootcamp at Flatiron School! This is week 5 for me. I've progressed through Ruby and some of it's libraries (ActiveRecord, etc.) and am currently deep diving into Rails :)

But enough about code, I've been asked to explain WHY I WANT TO CODE. And so here we go. I majored in civil engineering in college and pursued a master's degree only to realize that I REALLY disliked the industry. Like building things is cool, but turns out different professions have can VERY different work cultures and expectations. So in short, I realized I was a fish out of water at my former job and decided to try something else.

My time in grad school did introduce me to something else I enjoyed: CODING!!!! I was able to take a course in Python that introduced me to computational programming and my first higher-level language. The professor was super cool and this ended up being my favorite class at UW. In hindsight, this should have raised some alarm bells but live and learn ¯_(ツ)_/¯

So I knew I wanted to spend some time coding to confirm that I enjoyed it enough to do it year-round. I was already living in Seattle and looked around ultimately going with Flatiron because it felt right. Not knowing much about web development or coding outside of school, I figured this experience would introduce me to a whole new world.

And I'm so glad I did! This program has been a great experience for me and a fun way to start of 2020.

Top comments (0)