DEV Community

lmpham1
lmpham1

Posted on

First thoughts on open-source development

Hello hello hello!

I'm Minh and I want to share with you my first thoughts on open source development, as well as why I am taking this DPS909 course and my goals for it.

My first encounter with the term 'open source' happened almost 3 years ago when I decided to become a volunteer at FSOSS, which is an annual event at Seneca where speakers from popular open source organizations like Mozilla or Red Hat would come to Seneca and give speeches about all the things related to open source development. At that time, I did not get the idea of open source programming at all, as these questions kept circling around my head: "If you publish your code, can't someone else just steal your work and make profits out of it?" or "If anyone can make changes, then what if someone makes 'bad' changes that will ruin the program? Who will decide what changes get approved and what don't?" However, seeing the speaker halls always being packed with people, I thought to myself "Whatever open source programming is, it is popular among the developer community, and I should learn more about it some times in the future". This course offers me a great opportunity to do so, and that's why I'm here. I hope to also make some meaningful contributions to some open source projects so that I can broaden my knowledge and add some cool stuffs to my portfolio.

The project I've chosen to include in this first post is Spicetify, which is a command-line tool that allow you to customize your Spotify app to change its appearrance, add extensions or even create a custom app within it. As a heavy Spotify user, I can see myself using this tool a lot. I haven't decided on what to contribute yet. There are some bugs reported in the issues tab that I could try to work on. I could also attempt to create a new extension or a custom app. I will play around with the project a bit before making a decision. Part of the project is written in Go, which is a language I don't know yet and want to learn more about, so working on this project will surely be challenging as well as exciting.

I currently live in Toronto, Canada, but am originally from Vung Tau, Vietnam. Looking forward to working with and learning from other developers and students around the world!

Happy Coding!

Top comments (0)