DEV Community

Mandy B
Mandy B

Posted on

I'm still here :)

So what have I been up too?

I can't believe I started with the Odin Project at the end of October 2021. I'm still working on it btw haha. I got to JS and just needed a little more, guidance. Their discord community is top notch but I wanted a more "bootcamp" kind of feel without spending bootcamp money ha. I found this post on Reddit and said, why not?! So I joined #100Devs. It's been really good. We're learning how to code and network all at once. The HTML/CSS have been really good practice to help what I'd learned with TOP and Colt Steele in my mind. I don't think I'll ever stop learning HTML/CSS lol.

Hiccups along the way?

For me, CSS is the bane of my existence. How people make these mockups of an iPhone completely from HTML and CSS BLOWS MY MIND. I'm just over here using decade old attributes like float to make my little layouts. And then they don't always float like I want them!

Highlights?

I found that when I help others in Discord, I gain a better understanding of the concept or they show me a better way to approach a problem. I can't make my code look like someone else's but while reviewing and reading their code I can find their specificity issue in their CSS cascade and pinpoint why they are having troubles! But look at my own CSS? I can't see a thing lol.

Just happy to still be here and doing this. Still got a long way to go. One of these days, my post will be hey, check out my portfolio!

Top comments (0)