DEV Community

Luciano Menezes
Luciano Menezes

Posted on

πŸŽ† THE BEST AND MOST USEFUL VSCODE EXTENSIONS πŸŽ†

This post is also avaliable on Twitter and, in portuguese, on TabNews

THE BEST AND MOST USEFUL VSCODE EXTENSIONS

Peacock (end of thread)

⭐- WHAT WILL I SHOW?

In this Thread, I won't show you little extensions that you probably already know, like Live Server or Prettier.

I'll focus on USEFUL extensions that you probably don't have or know, but of course, I'll also go through some simple ones along the way.

βœ… 1 - BETTER COMMENTS

This extension will REVOLUTIONIZE the way you comment your code!

With it, you can change the color, style, leave the comment THE WAY YOU PREFER.

I myself always use it and WON'T STOP USING IT, it helps a lot to make the code beautiful!

See more here!

βœ… 2 - ERROR LENS

You know when you're writing code and need to ALWAYS COMPILE it to then LOOK FOR THE ERROR?

THAT ENDS HERE! Error Lens shows you CLEARLY where the errors are WHILE YOU WRITE THE CODE!

And I'll warn you, it also shows TypeScript alerts hahaha, I highly recommend it!

See more here!

βœ… 3 - TABNINE AI AUTOCOMPLETE

You may know others like it, but I assure you, I'VE BEEN USING THIS FOR YEARS AND NEVER REGRETTED IT

Even the free version helps you A LOT to write code! It has a VERY complete system, besides being VERY reliable!

I DON'T CODE WITHOUT IT ANYMORE! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

See more here!

βœ… 4 - VSCODE ANIMATIONS

This extension WILL IMPROVE YOUR VSCODE EXPERIENCE BY 1000x

It adds simple animations to VARIOUS actions, like opening a new file, terminal, etc.

And believe me! It won't bother you AT ALL! IT'S REALLY WORTH IT!

See more here!

βœ… 5 - BOOKMARKS

NO MORE GETTING LOST IN CODE!

With Bookmarks, you can add markers wherever you want!
These markers can have comments, be customized, and all of them appear in a TAB JUST FOR THEM!

It's REALLY WORTH IT for large codes, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

See more here!

βœ… 6 - CODE SNAP

You probably already know this one, BUT WAIT, I'LL SHOW YOU SOMETHING YOU DON'T KNOW!

With this extension, you take THE BEST PHOTOS OF YOUR CODE, it's perfect for sharing anywhere! even on Instagram to brag about your clean code! hahaha

And one thing you might not know is that it's CUSTOMIZABLE

You can change the background, color, opacity, spacing, EVERYTHING!

It's really worth it! I ALWAYS recommend it!

See more here!

βœ… 7 - VSCODE PETS

I showed this one in the previous post, BUT IT'S WORTH SHOWING AGAIN!

With this extension, YOU CAN PUT PETS IN YOUR VSCODE!

There are various options for animals, scenarios, you can play with them, EVERYTHING, IT'S AMAZING!

IT'S REALLY WORTH INSTALLING OH MY GOD IT'S REALLY WORTH IT

See more here!

βœ… 8 - WAKA TIME

THIS IS INNOVATIVE, YOU'LL SEE!

With this extension YOU CONTROL ALL THE TIME YOU SPENT CODING IN THE WEEK

It sends you a report about EVERYTHING in the week, with the time you spent on each project, file, IT'S AMAZING

Just sign up and make the most of it!

See more here!

βœ… 9 - GIT HISTORY

If you use Git / GitHub frequently, THIS EXTENSION WILL SAVE YOU A LOT

It shows ALL Git history, from commits, pull requests, EVERYTHING YOU CAN IMAGINE

And this with the SIMPLEST AND MOST INTUITIVE design

Even though it's simpler, IT'S REALLY WORTH IT!

See more here

βœ… 10 - PEACOCK

If you're a person like me, who always has MANY VSCode tabs open and always gets lost in them, THIS EXTENSION IS THE SOLUTION

With it, you can put ANY COLOR ON THE GITHUB BORDER, making it UNMISTAKABLE

(AND IT STARTED THE POST)

See more here!

⭐ BONUS - REGEX PREVIEWER

This one's for you WHO DON'T KNOW AND DON'T WANT TO KNOW REGEX (JUST LIKE ME HAHAHA)

With this extension, you preview what your RegEx expression does!

Believe me, IT WILL HELP YOU A LOT!

See more here!

πŸ˜„ - THANK YOU

I hope you liked it!

If you have any questions, just DM me on Twitter! I'm always available!

My social networks:

Twitter
GitHub

My projects:

DayKeeper
Better-Format

THANK YOU!

Top comments (0)