DEV Community

Nhlanhla Lucky Nkosi
Nhlanhla Lucky Nkosi

Posted on

To Kill a working drone - Intro

In this series, I'll take you through flying a drone with Node.JS and BLENO, Web Bluetooth, and a wide range of custom controllers which include a variety of fruits, hand gesture detection and twitter.

I'll share all the libraries I used, the code I wrote, and details of the devices I use, where necessary.

Context

Like most good stories, this one starts with me having a few drinks at a company event. On my way home, I went online and 'accidentally' bought a drone and completely forgot that I did. I bought the drone from a an online store that charges unbelievably low prices for almost anything you can imagine and takes months to deliver the items to you. This is where I buy gadgets and electronic components I don't actually need.

About three months later, the drone, along with other things I had forgotten about, arrived. I now had a drone I had no use for so I did what any sane tech enthusiast would do: I decided to hack the drone.

This idea was inspired by a talk on Web Bluetooth I saw at DevConf in Johannesburg, South Africa by the incredible Gergana (Gery) Young

gerybbg image

The below image was stuck in my head and it is the reason for months of all the madness in this series of articles
Gergana Yougn Speaking at tech conference

I spoke about five ways to control a drone at BBD Software Development’s Es@cape conference last year and you can watch that video here:

From me, Lucky: Sharp👍 Sharp👍

Godd bye brain

Top comments (0)