DEV Community

Macke Hansson
Macke Hansson

Posted on

RE: Tell us about yourself

My name is Macke and I have been coding on a regular basis since 2004. My first line of code was written back in 1997/98 in a text book at school.

I got in touch with markup at first and added upon that as time went. Front-end developing was pretty natural for me. I think the main reason for going the front-end path, was because I had no one in my proximity doing only backend.

Back then, web sites was build in notepad and then "deployed" to one of all the free hosting sites. I remember using cjb.net (If i reacall correctly) a lot.

Time went, portfolio got bigger and bigger. Coding was not yet something I did for pay, only for the fun of it. I applied to community college and went there for a couple of years. There I really connected with the web. This was in 2004.

I got into wordpress. This is where I got to experience backend for the first time. It was a lot of fun.

In 2006-7 I joined a local web design company and got my first job as a developer, or developing was just a part of the job. I had many hats back then, mainly design and coding. This was my entry and I will forever be grateful for that part of my life.

Years came and went as fast as web tech. Went from:

  • HTML / CSS to,
  • PHP / Wordpress to,
  • jQuery / Javascript to,
  • Angular.js / Angular to,
  • Vue to,
  • React

And here I am today. I love coding and are happy that I get to do it for a living, providing to the family.

But I have lately felt there is something missing. Maybe not missing, but something I want to add to my legacy as a web developer. And that is to share what I know, what i get to know in the future.

My goal is to publish one story a week. I need practice.

Nice to meet you. Lets go.

Top comments (0)