DEV Community

Nicolas Di Costanzo
Nicolas Di Costanzo

Posted on

Looking for an open source project to contribute to

Hey all! ๐Ÿ‘‹

I would like to contribute to an open source project which would be a good addition to my CV.
I'm a junior front-end web developer (1y experience) but I don't have a clear idea of what kind of job to look for after my current job. The only thing I'm sure of is that I want to move to another country (currently live in France), maybe somewhere like Scotland, Ireland or New Zealand?

The skills I'd like to develop further are software architecture and the use of front-end technologies. In terms of frameworks, I use one created by the company at work, so I don't have experience of a popular framework like React or Vue. On the other hand, I'm working on Angular for a personal project, but I'm still a beginner. Perhaps it would be a good idea to explore this area of expertise through open source?

Another important point is that this project must have a concrete positive impact. I don't want to work on some random music or video application. Not that it's useless, but I think I could be more useful by doing something more meaningful.

Would you have any suggestions of projects like that? Or where should I look for something like that?

Thanks for your help! ๐Ÿ™

Top comments (0)