DEV Community

Cover image for Kiss IT
Marcelloh
Marcelloh

Posted on

Kiss IT

While I roam the planet for a nice remote job, I amuse myself in the way that some companies try to lure people into their world. Some companies really do their very best to tell their story and feed you with the same enthusiasm as they experience themselves. It reads like a micro-novella and is exiting to fantasise how it would be to work there.

I must admit that I'm a huge Stephen King fan, so I like to read horror stories. Did you know that those exist as a micro-novella in the job-vacancy world as well?

What strikes me the most, is the fact that they probably don't know what they really mean to say, which I hope is actually the case in most of the time. But if they rally meant it, they should realise that there is a minor change that people will fall for the trap.

I know you are curious, so let me enlighten you. It's just a small sentence from a job-vacancy that does it.
"Do you like to work with complex programs?"

Let me break this down. If programs are complex, it probably means that it was build with the help of a mad genius, which means that the source code is hard to understand, difficult to test and that there is (just a guess) not that much technical documentation.

I like to work with complex problems, but solve that with simple solutions. Well maintainable, well tested and with good technical documentation.

Did I mention already I'm a huge fan of KISS too? And in this case, I'm not talking about the rock band, but about Keeping It Smart & Simple.

Why are people still create complex software (and do they need help in maintaining it)? I sometimes feel like a mad genius myself, but I always know that I have a responsibility towards the audience to make it smart & simple.

Don't fall for the trap of complexity. Do your very best to write the future!

Top comments (0)