DEV Community

Cover image for Scrimba's JavaScriptmas
MartWebb
MartWebb

Posted on • Updated on

Scrimba's JavaScriptmas

I am here to tell you about Scrimba, and #JavaScriptmas, and how I got here.
JavaScriptmas is an amazingly festive way for JavaScript programmers to practise their skills, win prizes and feel the holiday spirit at the same time, thought up by Scrimba, a creative learning platform.

I found Scrimba due to this crazy year. Unfortunately, I got furloughed from my last job as they had to downsize, so I decided to take some courses to learn all about frontend programming. That's when I found the fantastic Scrimba; it enticed me in with a free JavaScript course. While I was taking their course, they were just finalizing their awesome new Frontend Developer Career Path, which I just had to take. Since then, I have been on most days! They utilize interactive screen casts - called scrims - that allow you to play with the code while you are learning a new topic. They also strongly encourage collaboration and learning, and helping each other on their Discord channel. #JavaScriptmas gave me the motivation to practise coding every day, and the imagination to create more of my own projects.

Below are my solutions to the #JavaScriptmas challenges; there are many ways to solve these challenges, this is how I chose to solve them at the time.

Day 1: Candies
Day 2: Deposit Profit
Day 3: Chunky Monkey
Day 4: Century From Year
Day 5: Reverse a String
Day 6: Sort by Length

Day 7: Count Vowel Consonant
Day 8: The Rolling Dice
Day 9: Sum Odd Fibonacci Numbers
Day 10: Adjacent Elements Product
Day 11: Avoid Obstacles
Day 12: Valid Time

Day 13: Extract Each Kth
Day 14: Maximum Adjacent Difference
Day 15: Carousel
Day 16: Insert Dashes
Day 17: Different Symbols Naive
Day 18: Array Previous Less

Day 19: Alphabet Subsequence
Day 20: Domain Type
Day 21: Sum of Two
Day 22: Extract Matrix Column
Day 23: Social Media Input
Day 24: Test Your Agility

Top comments (0)