DEV Community

Cover image for Using a smartphone as streaming monitor for Teams
Massimo Bonanni
Massimo Bonanni

Posted on

Using a smartphone as streaming monitor for Teams

Every time I stream my courses using Teams (but it is happened even when I use other streaming platform), I'm afraid that my students cannot see my content in the right way.
Surely it happened to you too to talk over a fantastic slide that you made, but, in reality, your listeners are seeing another screen. It doesn't happen because you are not capable, you were simply focused on something else, and you didn't change the OBS scene at the right time. Or you are on the right screen, but your connection is bad, and the stream is not reaching your listeners as it should.

To avoid this, when I stream my content with Teams, I use a simple smartphone to check what the other in the meeting are seeing.

To begin, I connect the smartphone to a different network than the one I'm transmitting with in order to exactly simulate the
conditions of my listeners

Then, I open the Teams application (on the smartphone) by logging in with the same user I'm broadcasting as.

If you are already in a Teams meeting, when opening the application, a notification appears at the top with a "join" button (as shown in the figure):

The Teams mobile app with the join button on top

If you click on "join" button, you can choose to add the device to the meeting or transfer the call into the device as shown in the following picture:

Add or transfer the call options

Choosing "Add this device" option, you still remain in the call with the device you are using to stream, and you participate to the call with the smartphone.
The smartphone, from this moment, will show you exactly what your attendees see.

To avoid strange noises from the mic of the smartphone, I suggest you disable speaker and mute the microphone of the smartphone itself.

Top comments (0)