DEV Community

Mateus Loubach
Mateus Loubach

Posted on • Updated on

never skip steps.

I for one, have had a lot of trouble learning some things. Meaning I have some type of atention deficit or something of the sort.. - I'm not blaming the time I took to become an OK engineer, but the numbers are there.

Perhaps what I think the issue at hand, is that whoever is teaching, shouldn't skip any steps.
For example:
I am currently developing in a whole new stack and obviously I need to know how it works. - but people think that just because you know some other language or technology, that you know how things work "under the hood".
this happens, but isn't always the case.

In many cases, people who know how it works don't know how to teach it. - or, when they do, they partially inform you of what you MUST know. That's when you need to speak up! - 1st year programmers tend to leave it to adventuring and google and Stack Overflow, and, don't get me wrong, they're all great source of learning. But one thing a new Dev should DEFINITELY make sure they practice over and over again, is how fast they're getting tasks dealt with. And again, I don't mean that you must become the fastest Dev alive, I mean you should be able to learn how to make a great job, in less time than you usually take (ex: my first jobs i took months to deal with things that today would take me a week).

Anyhow, the thing is, learn how to speak up. YOU have a RIGHT to be confused or not know what it is that you need to learn. that's what you're there for. learn how to ask, learn how to let them know you still need their supervision on a certain task.

Top comments (0)