DEV Community

Cover image for Getting better with time
Maulik
Maulik

Posted on • Updated on

Getting better with time

The first version can never be good enough but subsequent versions will be always better

When we start with any application development, it will not look good at first but it doesn't mean that it is not good, it's just at its initial phase. It will evolve into something better each time through continuous efforts.

So I wanted to share one such story of mine. A competition was held in my organization where we have to create a product of music visualization.

So I started my research, looked into a few libraries and finally selected Three.js to show 3D effects on music beats.

I had not ever done "Hello World!" in Three.js but It was a chance to learn so I started and created the first version.
Here is how my first version looked like

So as the above video, I have created something that visualizes music...But there are many things missing, I did not like that first version and I did not have much time. But luckily I was not demoralized by that, and instead I kept improving it...

There are few sleepless nights I spent on it as I also have a job in the day time. But it was easy as I was interested and enjoying it. And most importantly at each step, I was seeing an improvement.

So here is the evolved final version which got me the win.

“You'll never reach perfection because there's always room for improvement. Yet get along the way to perfection, you'll learn to get better.”

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
uzair004 profile image
Muhammad Uzair

Thanks for sharing your experience. Give me motivation to NOT cover everything in advance and learn on the go

Collapse
 
maulik profile image
Maulik

I'm glad that you liked it and found it helpful.