DEV Community

P J MOHAMMED SHOAIB
P J MOHAMMED SHOAIB

Posted on • Updated on

Unforgettable: My Journey at the Kubernetes Community Day(KCD) Bangalore 2023

Introduction

I am Mohammed Shoaib,final year engineering student exploring and trying to learn new technologies.
Recently,I saw a post on twitter about an event "Kubernetes Community Day" which is happening in bangalore. I tried to book tickets but it was sold out.Later,My friend pratik Singh sent me a google form where kcd bangalore organizers were giving out few free passes to the students and I applied for it.Luckily I was selected and I received this email.
Acceptance Email

About Event

Kubernetes Community Days Bengaluru is a community-organised event that includes conference and workshop events, to gather adopters and technologists from leading open source and cloud-native communities. The conference event is supported by the CNCF.

The event was was about 2 Days filled with amazing keynote and speaker sessions.Everything was very well organised by the organisers and the volunteers. The agenda of the event was this.The event was held at nimhans convention centre,Bangalore.

My Experience

Day 1:
I was very excited to attend the event so I reached early on that day. The registration was done and had my breakfast organised by event.Before the speaker session,I had little time left so,Explored the sponsor booths and got to learn few things and met few amazing people.

The event started with amazing keynote session by Nabarun Pal and Nikhita Raghunath on State of Kubernetes and CNCF: A path to a sustainable and secure future .This session was so amazing and especially I loved the way they presented it.

The sessions were happening in 2 auditoriums [main hall,Audi 2]
The sessions were happening one after another,all sessions were amazing but I liked few of the sessions very much:

  • Application delivery on k8s - the past, present and future by Akash Gautam

  • K3s and MicroK8s: Lightweight Kubernetes for Edge and IoT Applications by Aayush Sharma and Bhavya Sachdeva

  • Kubernetes and Cloud Native Friends, A Journey of CNCF Maintainers From India by Madhav Jivrajani,Sayan Chowdhury,Priyanka Saggu,Shubham Sharma,Ashutosh Kumar,Meha Bhalodiya
    This was an amazing session,Seriously never thought contributing to open source would change life..After this session,got motivated to do more open source contributions.

  • Devfile: Dev environment as code by Parthvi Vala

  • Automatic logs, traces and metrics in K8s using OpenTelemetry & SigNoz by Pranay Prateek

There were breaks in between sessions to have lunch and snacks/Tea

Day 2:
After completion of the first day so energetic ,I was excited very much to attend the second day as well..

The second day with an amazing keynote session 9 lessons from k8s in enterprise by Vishal Biyani,CTO of Infracloud.
There were so many amazing sessions arranged for Day- 2 as well.All sessions were amazing,some of the sessions which I loved attending were:

  • WebAssembly & Containers: The Power Couple by Shivay Lamba andRohit Ghumare

  • Demo: Tackling Container Networking at Scale by yash Tandon

  • Simplifying multi-clusters in Kubernetes using KubeSlice by Rahul Sawra and Yachika Ralhan

  • Distroless Images: Failing the last mile by Amit Kumar Das

There were so many amazing quiz and other competition were held at sponsor booths. Many swags were also distributed.
There was an amazing corner in the venue as job board,where everyone were writing the roles /opportunity that are available at there respective companies.You can check the glimpse of the event in this

swags

My major Takeaways from the event

  • Kubernetes is very interesting topic to learn and work on

  • By Contributing to open source you can learn and grow alot

  • Networking with folks in events like KCD can help you learn new things

  • Be a part of communities and it will help you alot

Conclusion

I am very glad that I got a chance to attend the kcd bangalore 2023,it was a great experience for me. Lastly, I would like to Thank all the organisers Neependra Khare,Kiran Mova,Aravind Putrevu,Prithvi Raj,Rachna Anuj.In-person events are worth attending,if kcd is happening in your city or nearby,Please try to attend it.

Thanks for reading it.
If you like it or if it interesting ,please like it and follow me.

Top comments (0)