DEV Community

Mentoring Developers

Episode 61: Fernando Hönig on AWS and Cloud Computing for Spanish Speakers

Meet our next guest, Fernando Hönig. Fernando is originally from Argentina and fully understands the challenges that Spanish-speakers around the world face in the IT industry when trying to learn new information and ultimately get ahead. He has found a way to give back to the Spanish community through his AWS program and social media channels. Listen in to episode 61 while Fernando and Mentoring Developers co-host Sara Ines Calderon discuss cloud computing and AWS in the Spanish-speaking IT world.
Fernando’s Bio:
Fernando is an experienced Cloud Infrastructure Solutions Leader with over 18 years of extensive IT Architecture and Management experience in a variety of market sectors. He has an in-depth understanding of Information Technology services and technology in conjunction with their related markets and strategies.
Fernando is an accomplished professional in designing, implementing and configuring a wide variety of hosting, web, applications and systems solutions. He has proven experience in managing multiple large-scale infrastructure projects across matrix environments and multi-phased, complex migration programs.
 
Publications:

* AWS en Español (Spanish Translation)
* AWS in Spanish (English Translation)
* User Groups are the Newest Addition to the Growing Global Community
* Save Money with AWS VPC EndPoints
* How to Monitor a VPN Connection in AWS using Lambda
* Control the Cloud with Code!

 
You can find Fernando on YouTube, LinkedIn, the LinkedIn group AWS en Español, or Twitter.

Episode Highlights and Show Notes:
Sara: Why don’t you introduce yourself, tell me your name, where you work, and how you got into technology?
Fernando: All right. My name is Fernando Honig. I’m originally from Argentina, but I’ve been living in London since 2014. I have a strong infrastructure background. So I come from the infrastructure type of the IT field. I have more than 15 years of IT experience. Lately, I’ve been getting more into the cloud technologies and the cloud aspect of the IT system. I work in cloud infrastructure solutions architect for a company in London. So, that is who I am.
Sara: Cool. When we were talking earlier you told me about how you came into technology and you said that you had started when you were very young. Is that correct?
Fernando: Yes. So, back when I was 16 or 17 years old, I started back in the ages. I’m 36 now. I started two centuries ago. People were using modems and connecting to the Internet using the U.S. Robotics 56k modems to start browsing. That was the old Internet then. It was, I think, 1.0. So, I started doing that. I was going to customers and basically installing pieces of hardware. So it was a long journey when I started doing that and then I later got interested in Linux. That drove my passion about all the Linux and open source technologies then I became a DBA.
Sara: That’s awesome. So, how did you learn? You mentioned previously that it was in Argentina in the 80s and we had Internet 1.0. How did you learn how to install modems and then continue?
Fernando: It was really hard.

Episode source