DEV Community

Cover image for Fix Terminal Lags In VsCode 1.15.1
Muhammad Ilham hidayat
Muhammad Ilham hidayat

Posted on

Fix Terminal Lags In VsCode 1.15.1

Currently, I'm using macOS Big Sur (11.0) and VsCode 1.15.1

Recently when I'm typing a command in VsCode integrated terminal, it become very laggy. It needs 2-3 seconds to complete.

This happen when I'm trying to run git commit -m. It's really annoying because I need to wait the command to appear in the terminal before I write the commit message.

After googling, I finally found out how to fix it in VsCode Github Issue. In your terminal, please run:

// For Visual Studio Code
codesign --remove-signature /Applications/Visual\ Studio\ Code.app/Contents/Frameworks/Code\ Helper\ \(Renderer\).app

// For Visual Studio Code - Insiders
codesign --remove-signature /Applications/Visual\ Studio\ Code\ -\ Insiders.app/Contents/Frameworks/Code\ -\ Insiders\ Helper\ \(Renderer\).app
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Then restart VsCode or VsCode - Insiders.

Source

VsCode Github Issue - Integrated Terminal Lags Intermittently

Top comments (0)