DEV Community

Cover image for Miniature IoT plant-care project step 1: procure components
Julia Johansson
Julia Johansson

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at orderorder.io

Miniature IoT plant-care project step 1: procure components

At the moment, I am taking a course on internet of things. One assignment is to set up an automated system for home use. I want to do something with plants and I have been curious about Adafruit for a long time, they have lots of cool hardware. A while ago I saw that they have a guide and components to make an automated system for a self-watering plant, so that is what I will be doing.

You are welcome to join in, I list the guide and the components below. I would like to be finished in late May. You could also just tag along for the ride, I will post some updates about the project.

Ingredients - the components you will need

1 x Adafruit Bonsai Buckaroo
2 x Small Alligator Clip Test Lead
2 x Nail to measure resistance
1 x Adafruit CLUE - nRF52840 Express with Bluetooth LE
1 x Battery pack or USB cable to plug into another power source, unclear yet
1 x Submersible 3V DC Water Pump
1 x Tube for the water, 6 mm diameter, length unsure
1 x Water container with some kind of lid
1 x Plant

It is cheaper to use a BBC micro:bit instead of the CLUE, I chose Clue because it has a screen as well. This is a test project, there are problems with having nails in soil like this overtime when they corrode and might damage the plant. I have no plan for that but I intend to look into it more.

The guide

First, there are some components via the link below and what they do and then there is a guide below that. You can buy most of the stuff on that page as well, but you could of course use some components from somewhere else. Adafruit Bonsai Buckaroo Plant-Care guide

Top comments (0)