DEV Community

Cover image for Did you know about Facebook keyboard shortcuts?
sayem
sayem

Posted on

Did you know about Facebook keyboard shortcuts?

Recently I was doing some privacy checkups on Facebook and found something interesting. You can browse through your newsfeed without using the mouse. Here is how you can do it.

Where you can find the shortcuts?

  1. Click on your account. Alt Text
  2. Then navigate to Display and accessibility. Alt Text
  3. Click on Keyboard Alt Text
  4. Then See all keyboard shortcuts Alt Text

Memorize the shortcuts for navigating in your newsfeed.

List of available shortcuts

Global shortcuts

Description Key
Search Facebook /
Show/hide shortcuts shift + ?

Newsfeed

Description Key
Leave comment c
See more enter
Next post k
Previous post j
Like or unlike post l
Open attachment of post o
Create new post o
Search Messenger contacts q
Share post s

Photo Albums

Description Key
Enter or exit fullscreen f
Previous photo j
Next photo k
Like photo l

Why I use these shortcuts?

As a heavy user of the tiling window manager, I rely heavily on the keyboard for doing my day to day works. So using the mouse is my second option. Sometimes my finger aches after scrolling a long time in the newsfeed 😫 . So it's a great relief for me to use these shortcuts for navigating my newsfeed.

Top comments (0)