DEV Community

Michael Brackett
Michael Brackett

Posted on

Release 3.0 P-1

For Release 3.0 we needed to create two pull requests, one to a external repository and one internal to Seneca College, this blog is about my pull request to a external repository.

For Release 3.0 I wanted to submit another pull request to a repository that I previously worked with (It also actually told us that we might want to do this is the assignment page) The repository that I chose was the one that I had the most trouble with previously, Awesome Adoption. I liked contributing to this repository because:

  1. I had some trouble fixing my past issues and it taught me a lot
  2. I think the website could be useful and I support what the owner of the repo is trying to create

The pull request that I did you can find here, its about issue #26. Basically, I was tasked with creating a resource page in React and adding information about, Adoption, Covid-19, and Adoption during Covid-19. I found this pull request to be pretty interesting because I had to do a lot of research about adopting pets. Did you know that every year around 6.5 million companion pets enter shelters in just the USA, and thats only dogs and cats. Out of those 6.5 million, only 3.2 million are adopted and 1.5 million are euthanized (Statistics provided by ASPCA).
This leaves 1.8 million pets that go untouched each year

This submission reinforced my ability in React web programming which funniliy enough was well needed since Senecas Telescope program is written with React. This pull request helped me greatly and was a refresher of the React syntax so when I started work on the Telescope problem I could get right into it.

Another reason why I think this pull request is important is because I think it shows a very important part of open source development, like my last pull request to this repo all I had to do was create a placeholder image. This pull request I had to do a lot of research, when working on Open Source projects you may be tasked to do something that doesn't entirely relate to programming but instead relates to the project it self. Even though I did a bunch more programming in this pull request than my last, I think both demonstrate something more about Open Source programming which weirdly enough is that it's not all about programming.

Top comments (0)