DEV Community

Michael Brackett
Michael Brackett

Posted on

Release 4.0 Mid point

During the middle of Release 4.0 I have fixed the description to jsonMergeUtil and fixed a bug in the program which gave me a hard time to actually find out why this was happening.

Basically Python has a library called logger, where you can log stuff. In my previous request I added an optional argument when running the program to specify the logging level, if you are logging at INFO it will output whatever is loaded into the logging.info variable in another file called output. Basically it wasn't outputting anything, which was pretty bad because that means that my last commit to this repository actually broke the program a little bit. Luckily I could fix this program in just 1 line after a while of searching through the logger documentation.

I've also decided to pick up another issue from a project named dev-jot which is a web based project that allows developers to jot down note quickly (I really like the idea). The pull request that I made can be found here. It was very small and just a little pull request but I actually had to do some research about viewports and meta tags, which I think is actually going to be really useful for me since I can implement this in my own personal website mljbrackett.com

While it was small I actually learnt some good things about using Google Lighthouse to give your website a quick score on how you are doing.

I have also begun work on my third issue which is from the project FreeTube. I've done a little work on it so far and have narrowed down the larger problem to one of the functions that needs to be run never actually gets run because of an if statement calling it. I haven't gotten past that yet and am still looking into it.

I'm looking forward to fixing this bug though cause it's a hard one and this is for sure gonna feel good when I fix it.

Weirdly enough I get such a great feeling when I fix a hard bug but I assume most developers feel the same way.

Top comments (0)