DEV Community

mpa-LHutchinson
mpa-LHutchinson

Posted on

Week 5: Hacktoberfest pull request 1

Introduction

This week I finally got my first pull request for hacktoberfest merged! As you read more of my blogs in the future, you may notice that this is not the first pull request I've tried to work on for hacktoberfest, rather it is just the first to be approved and merged. I will talk about these other pull requests in future blogs, but to sum it up I initially had some trouble with the other pull requests, either with myself not being able to complete them or the maintainers not responding on time. This is also why this blog is a couple of days late. Regardless, I'm proud I was able to have a nice, simple first issue to be merged so I can work on more complex ones in the future.

The Issue

Here is the link to the issue:

https://github.com/computerclubkec/computerclubkec.github.io/issues/59

This repo I worked on is for the official Computer Club of Kantipur Engineering College (KEC) website. I needed to make a simple modification to the homepage, and it was to add section tags to some parts of the home page. Thankfully there wasn't much setup for this, all I needed was to fork the repo and create a new branch. The task was so simple that I didn't need to do any additional setup like installing docker or tailwind, I could just get right onto the home page.

The Changes

In order to complete my issue, I just needed to encase some parts of the home page with a "section" tag, providing each section their own unique ID. For example, the upcoming events tab would go from this:



{% include upcoming-events.html %}


Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

To this:



<section id="upcoming-events">
    {% include upcoming-events.html %}
</section>


Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This change makes each section of the homepage distinct, so in the future both viewers of the website and developers will have an easier time navigating it. I did this change to the upcoming-events, brand-colab, and metrics-banner. It was as simple as taking code that has already been written and wrapping it in an HTML tag, perfect for my first issue.

Completing the pull request

Once I added these changes, I created a pull request and informed the maintainer that I added the change. The next day, it got approved and merged. The maintainers seemed nice, and I had no problems with them while I worked on my issue. Here's the pull request:

https://github.com/computerclubkec/computerclubkec.github.io/pull/61

Conclusion

Overall I am thankful I was able to get my first pull request approved, even if it is a little late. If the maintainers of my other pull requests get back to me, I will talk about it in future blog posts. But this is a good starting point for my hacktoberfest journey.

Top comments (0)