DEV Community

mpa-LHutchinson
mpa-LHutchinson

Posted on

Week 7: Hacktoberfest pull request 2

Introduction

This week I got my second pull request for hacktoberfest merged. The thing is, I've technically got 2 pull requests merged, however since they are both relatively simple I will only count one of them for the purpose of my release 0.2 assignment, as the objective of the assignment is for the pull requests to be progressively more challenging. But for this week I made an easy pull request in order to have something to blog about this week.

The Issue

Here is the link to the issue:

https://github.com/InDieTasten/ASCII-mate/issues/35

This repo I worked on was for a tool called ASCII-mate, a CLI tool with mouse support for drawing ASCII art and animations. For my issue I simply needed to create an MIT license file for the repo with the author being the owner of the repo. Needless to say this was a pretty trivial task as I've made an MIT file earlier this semester for my own release 0.1 repo. All I had to do was fork the repo, create a file titled "LICENSE" and copy the MIT license information into the file.

Completing the pull request

Once I added these changes, I created a pull request and informed the maintainer that I added the change. The same day, the maintainers merged the pull request. They were nice and even gave me a tip that I didn't know of, which is if you write words like "Closes" or "Fixes" and then the issue number in the PR description, it will auto-link the PR and close the issue automatically when it gets merged.

https://github.com/InDieTasten/ASCII-mate/pull/41

Other pull request

While searching for other issues to work on, I completed another relatively simple one where all I had to do was add something to a README file. While I could include this as one of my 4 pull requests for release 0.2, I'm going to choose to search for 2 more complex issues instead. If you'd like to check out the issue and pull request I'll leave them here:

https://github.com/One-Zero-Code/ngx-toastr-message/issues/16
https://github.com/One-Zero-Code/ngx-toastr-message/pull/19

Conclusion

Overall I am thankful I was able to get another pull request approved. These first 2 pull requests are a great starting point, but now I will search for harder pull requests in order to challenge myself.

Top comments (0)