DEV Community

Cover image for Dev YouTube List
Kresno Fatih Imani
Kresno Fatih Imani

Posted on

Dev YouTube List

Introduction

As a developer, staying informed is definitely one of the most important ways to stay afloat. There are many ways to achieve this and watching YouTube is one of my most commonly visited option. I frequently get asked by other developers for my favorite creators in case one or more channels wasn't on their watch list yet.

Purpose

This article lists down some of the channels I really liked and also share a little of why you might want to have a look at each of them.

Channels

PedroTech

Videos about Web Development! ReactJS, NodeJS, MySQL, Express, MongoDB, GraphQL and much more!

favicon youtube.com
  • You can experience in depth tutorials of the various projects he's trying to achieve.
  • Introduces you to all the quicker & smarter technologies you can use to help your dream projects get done.
  • For JavaScript/TypeScript enthusiasts, you might be able to speed up your workflow or familiarize even more with the language if you're just starting out.

TechWithTim

Learn programming, software engineering, machine learning and everything tech from this channel. With a special emphasis on python and javascript my channel aims to give you free resources so that you can learn to code and dive into the software engineering and programming industry. My goal is to provide the highest quality programming and tech videos on the internet!

favicon youtube.com
  • Invites you to his entrepreneurial mindset and inspires you to brainstorm ideas of the more practical things in life that you can solve with code.
  • You can get high level systems overview of the various projects he's worked on (e.g. game, web3, machine-learning).
  • If you want to learn Python, you'll find a lot of tutorials/playlists of common projects people work on.

Learn Linux TV

My name is Jay, and my Youtube channel is Learn Linux TV. As the name implies, my channel is all about Linux. I've been working with Linux for decades, and I enjoy passing my knowledge on to others! On my channel, viewers enjoy instructional tutorial videos, reviews of Linux distributions, and more. My videos are provided to the world for free, and my Patrons help make it happen! If you aren't able to donate, you can always spread the word about my channel to others. Either way, I appreciate each and every one of you for living this dream with me! 📬 Shipping: 1737 Spring Arbor Rd #197 Jackson, MI 49203

favicon youtube.com
  • Talks about computers, OS, Linux/Bash scripting, & more.
  • Not the kind of videos you'd want to watch each & every day but the contents of the channel covers basic topics but somehow rare in YouTube (and with good presentation and demos).

GuaravSen

This channel is for software developers looking to get better at algorithms, system design, and learning engineering best practices. Here, you will find content around competitive programming, data structures, algorithms, game-playing AI, and system design. Recently, I have focused on how large-scale distributed systems are designed, built, and maintained.

favicon youtube.com
  • The channel is basically interview-style systems design explanation videos.
  • A lot of Super Apps systems design are covered in this channel along with some interesting engineering behind them.
  • I learn a lot from the content delivery about techniques & styles on how to break complex system design explanations into smaller & understandable chunks (usually to prepare for interview).

ByteByteGo

Covering topics and trends in large-scale system design, from the authors of the best-selling System Design Interview book series. This channel is managed by Alex Xu and Sahn Lam. To master system design, get our 158-page System Design PDF for free by subscribing to our weekly newsletter (10-min read): https://bit.ly/3tfAlYD Take our system design online course: https://bit.ly/3mlDSk9

favicon youtube.com
  • Yet another systems design channel (and more actually) but its contents are much more well-edited & visualized with animations, making concepts easier for people to digest.
  • The contents are not the in-depth type ones but covers many topics that can help you become aware of the knowledge gaps you might have (and maybe for you to improve on some day).

TechWorldWithNana

Help people learn DevOps & Cloud easily 💙 I create new videos every month, topics include mainly DevOps and Cloud tutorials. Subscribe and activate bell notification so you don't miss new videos :) I'm a Docker Captain, AWS Container Hero & CNCF Ambassador 🤓 💪 ► https://www.techworld-with-nana.com/ Some topics covered: - Docker - Kubernetes - CI/CD - GitLab CI, GitHub Actions, Jenkins - Python - Ansible - Prometheus Monitoring - Terraform - YAML - & more! Have fun watching my videos! 🙂

favicon youtube.com
  • My go-to channel when there is some Devops concept or tool that needs breaking down.
  • TLDR, a really good channel for people who are new to Devops and are trying to get the gist of what a certain concept or tool is about. I really don't recommend forcing yourself to understand all of it, especially in one go, since most of the topics the content cover are actually huge.
  • There are some 1hour hands-on tutorials covering diverse concepts in this channel that might be of interest to you if you're the type for that.

Be A Better Dev

This channel is devoted to helping you become a better developer by learning about AWS, cloud computing, and system design concepts. My name is Daniel Galati and I have nearly a decade of experience working in tech. I am currently working as a senior software engineer at Amazon. On my channel, you'll find videos on software development topics such as databases, design principles, and cloud computing. I put an emphasis on making complicated topics easier to understand. From time to time, I'll also share developer career advice gathered through real-life industry experience for those of you looking to break into, or are already established in the software industry. If you want to join me in becoming a better developer, hit that subscribe button now. Patreon Link: https://www.patreon.com/beabetterdev --------------------- Videos created are based on my own opinion and not related to any company, organization or person.

favicon youtube.com
  • Let's be honest, these days the barriers between devops/backend/frontend tends to blur, especially with AWS around. If you're the type that likes to learn about the various AWS technologies that can boost your development, this channel is for you.
  • It introduces you to multiple AWS services, explains the differences between them, tells you what developer pain points they address, helps you decide when to opt one service over the other, and also showcases some demo tutorials.

FireShip IO

High-intensity âš¡ code tutorials and tech news to help you ship your app faster. New videos every week covering the topics every programmer should know. The original home of #100SecondsOfCode #TheCodeReport and #CodeThisNotThat. Created by Jeff Delaney. Building an app? Get project support, advanced full courses, and more at https://fireship.io

favicon youtube.com
  • Keeps you up to date with the latest tech news along with a couple of jokes and memes that I think makes it entertaining.
  • Other than news, it showcases some new technologies & frameworks with short videos that hints its strengths.

A Life Engineered

My name is Steve Huynh, I am a YouTuber, a Principal Engineer, a productivity junkie. I believe that if we take a structured and engineering approach to our lives and careers we can achieve anything we want. My mission is to help knowledge workers develop a growth mindset so they can live the lives they want, whether that’s getting promoted as quickly as possible, starting a business/startup, or finding financial independence. I do this by creating YouTube videos, my weekly email newsletter, and connecting people with a community of like-minded individuals on my Discord, where I distill the lessons I've learned from nearly 20 years in the tech industry.

favicon youtube.com
  • Well-constructed video contents about skills, productivity, & career development tips in tech relevant for new graduates, middle, and senior engineers considering to align their skills & increase their impact.
  • In a lot of ways, I personally like how a lot of what the content covers resonates with how engineers perceive their own efforts and how their company view them from the other side of the table.

Nicholas Renotte

Sup! Welcome to the channel. So, if you're reading this, you're probably wondering what this is all about and who the hell is this Nicholas Renotte guy. Right? Right! Well, I'm here to share practical ways to get started with data science, machine learning and deep learning using a bunch of different tools but mainly Python and Javascript. My only goal is to make it easier to get started and break through all the fancy jargon and complex math that's out there in the field and get YOU up and running with some sick ml projects. Jump on for the ride homie! LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/nicholasrenotte/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nickrenotte/ GitHub: https://github.com/nicknochnack Peace! P.s. Did I mention I like data?

favicon youtube.com
  • To be completely honest, I only watch this channel from time to time only for the sake of sparking enthusiasm on my self towards data, machine learning, and AI. I think this is one of the better channels to subscribe to on this topic, especially if you are someone looking for data projects to put on your portfolio.
  • The channel mostly consists of easy-to-follow hands-on tutorials covering many of the flashy use cases of machine learning and AI - highlighting how easy it is to get started.
  • You get the benefit of getting informed about the latest advancement in data and AI.

Conclusion

  • There are varying motives behind why each of these channels made the list. I think a lot of it is because there's a lot of ground to cover when talking about Tech - from skills to career progression.

Top comments (0)