DEV Community

Interaction Designs
Interaction Designs

Posted on

Introspection (and Mirrors?)

Smart Mirror

A project I've been thinking about making for a little while now is a smart mirror. Most people have mirrors in their bedroom and bathrooms and most people start and end their day going into the bathroom and the bedroom. I would like to build and code a smart mirror that could be utilized as a day planner, alarm clock, speaker system, and capable of all sorts of everyday tasks.

The most important thing I like about the smart mirror idea is that it would be used as a tool rather than an entertainment device. People look at enough screens throughout the day, if this mirror could be used as a routine tool rather than a time waster, I'd feel like I did my job.

It's definitely not a device everybody needs but it could be a device that could improve the productivity of someone's day.

I originally thought of this idea as a gift for my sister and I still plan for it to be, but I do think if I'd actually build it and write the code behind it, others would want one too.

Money? Who needs it... Time? It's just a construct

If I were to live life without money or time being a concern I'd like to live it seeing and experiencing everything amazing this world has to offer while helping as many people I can along the way. We live in such a remarkable time where it really feels like anything is possible.

It only takes one great idea and a whole lot of drive to create something amazing. Both are tough to come by but I believe my drive stems from the wanting of making myself the best possible version I can. I then hope to use my skills and passion to motivate and ultimately better the lives of those around me.

I don't know how yet, but I'd hope one day I can either build something or have the next idea to change people's lives for the better. Looking around it seems there's so many superficial things in our lives that we put importance over the real things that make us amazing humans. When it comes down to the question, "If money was no concern, time no concern; what would you do with your life and the skills you've assembled if you could dedicate it to one thing?", I'd answer with, utilizing everything I've learned from others and through myself to dedicate myself towards the well-being of others. Whether that will be on a tech project, social service, or anything else, I want my life to make an impact on this world.

Top comments (0)