DEV Community

Tymur Levtsun
Tymur Levtsun

Posted on

Week 8: Admin page design and records server integration

Overview

This week I have been working on two major things, which are:

  • UI design for the admin panel page
  • Records creation, prolonging and deletion flow integration with front end

Design

People from Seneca requested our team to include some sort of admin panel in the startchart and as the first step of doing so, we needed some ideas on its design of it. What I liked about developing design first with the close collaboration of all team members is that it stimulates everybody to think about how certain functionality is gonna work on all layers. I presented my ideas on the design on Wednesday for the team and as I expected we had a very productive conversation on not only the design itself but also on how the admin functionality is gonna be implemented in general. As a result, we got a pretty decent concept of what UI design is gonna include and how it is gonna be done.

Records flow integration

The day has come and I finally created the PR on integrating the records creation flow which includes not only creating the record in DB but also manipulating with Route53. Since the flow was implemented on the back end side I was able to integrate it on the front end. I faced one interesting issue while doing so.

That issue was when I tried to delete records which were created by seeding DB and had an issue with doing so. At a certain point with the help of Won I realized that since we create the fake hosted zone after seeding DB these records are not in fake route53 but only in the database. This made me integrate record creation first, so I could work with other manipulation on them. I also deleted seeding DB with that records, because it provides more confusion than benefits.

UPD: looks like E2E tests are failing because of removing tests, maybe I should do something else

Conclusion

It was a nice week, especially the few last days. I started proactively fighting against my huge social media addiction and it helps to make more stuff done and just feel better in general. My focus is returning to me and I feel like I can start to look deeper into things. Hope the next week is gonna be even better. Peace ✌️

Top comments (0)