DEV Community

Cover image for I moved back from macOS to Linux and I'm loving it!
Mohammed Ismail Ansari
Mohammed Ismail Ansari

Posted on

I moved back from macOS to Linux and I'm loving it!

This article outlines my transition back from macOS to Linux with the help of references to the videos in the series I created last year. You can find the complete playlist here.

A recap of my computing experience

In the first video, I talked about my computing experience that started from Windows back in 1999, traveling through several Linux distros in the next few years, finally settling on macOS. After the brief history, I talk about the reasons for my return to Linux and also list down a few pros and cons of the move in relation to my new machine.

My return to Windows for a very short while

In the second video, I describe my experience with Windows after several years for how it feels especially on the new device, and then I also briefly talk about my experience re-setting it up to make space for my primary Linux installation.

Setting up my new machine with Linux

In the third video, I dive deeper into the details on how I configured my new machine with Linux with a backup Windows partition and also talk about the challenges that I faced and the steps that I took in a little detail.

Setting up Nvidia hybrid graphics

In the fourth video, I talk about how I configured Nvidia hybrid drivers for my device and also the challenges that I faced, the limitations of the setup and, my custom tweaks to the arrangement.

Gaps and Issues

In the (then) final video I talk about the gaps and issues in my setup that I wanted to fill in after successful migration from the macOS ecosystem to Arch Linux.

Further

After I posted the fifth video in the series, I've taken care of most of the gaps and issues in my setup and will be making another video to talk about the fixes soon.

I'm totally loving my new setup. Do throw in your thoughts in the comments and hopefully, I can learn about something I might have missed.

Top comments (0)