DEV Community

Cover image for Using Google's Bard to Get a UX/UI job.
Gerald M
Gerald M

Posted on

Using Google's Bard to Get a UX/UI job.

So Google at it's I/O summit recently launched Bard which is an experimental and conversational AI chatbot that responds to prompts.

The intelligent chatbot competes with its older brother ChatGPT and has some excellent features, holding greater potential to become the next big thing as far as AI is concerned, within the next couple of months.

I talked a developer at Google and he confidently explained the power this AI model would have in the next three months as compared to its competitor. He demonstrated what I'm about to show and I was pretty convinced.

My hope is that we've al tried playing around with Bard and if not, you're missing quite a lot. I'm a jolly good Designer and there's nothing I enjoy more than a perfect intersection between User Experience and amazing visuals. Bard combines all this and gives excellent results.

So, I tried to get a job with bard, rather prepare a pathway that will help me land a role in a couple of steps which I believe can help an entry level Designer. Here's how I did it.

1. I Identified someone who I consider a mentor in the design space. In my case, I picked UI Adrian and asked Bard this;

Asking bard How I can be like my mentor

Next, I asked this:
2.Show me the basics of UX/UI Design and refine to the most important details.

Show basics of UX/UI Design

Continuation

Apparently, Bard gave me a response with an overview of the basics of UX/UI Design which was quite detailed for someone looking forward to start a career in design.

I went further and asked for an intensive 2-month action plan to groom myself into becoming a UX/UI Designer.

3. Create an intensive 2 month action plan that I can use to learn all about UX/UI Design.

Intensive 2 month action plan

Intensive 2 month action plan

This was quite impressive, breaking down the months week by week and specifying what action to take in each.

But I wasn't satisfied and so I asked Bard to further refine the plan into steps I would take each day in week one.

4. Break down Week one further and get into the finest details.

Day one to 7 week one in 2 month action plan

Next Day onwards

Bard has the ability to respond to prompts in different drafts and I went a step further to see how the rest turned out. The second draft was much more detailed and a suitable avenue for implementation.

It's possible to regenerate new drafts and get as much information as possible.

Drafts

It kept getting better and I was impressed seeing information on the design process as well as relevant and up to date tools used by designers on a daily

Regenerated Response 2

Regenerated Response 2 continuation

Well, I now have a roadmap and so do you if you're starting off as a designer. AI is quite a powerful tool to use and we can use it to our advantage as far as learning and other benefiting matters are concerned.

Consider Bard your sidekick๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿพ in interview preparation, job description analysis and fine-tuning your resume to match a preferred one.

Maximize the power of this tool and I'm pretty sure sooner or later you'll land that role you've been desiring. Not only for designers but for all tech and applicable non-tech roles that you've been desiring.

I hope you found this article insightful and if so, leave a comment and share on socials..
Feel free to point out or correct or add on to where I missed an important feature.

Cheers!๐Ÿฅ‚

Top comments (0)