DEV Community

Nibodh Daware
Nibodh Daware

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at nibodhdaware.me

Best Programming Learning Resources

When wanting to get into programming there are a ton of learning resources to get your foot in the door but choosing between the right resource to teach yourself code in the right amount of time might be like finding a needle in a haystack.

So in this post, we will be looking at a few resources that helped me to learn to code and (kinda) helped me get into this industry (might help you too idk), also these are my opinions please I would really like for you to go in the comments and tell what are your favorite and go-to resources.

Youtube

The most visited place on the planet by me

image.png

I noticed the power of youtube when I was trying my hands at game development in Unity and C# when I got to tutorials by of course Brackey's and realized there are so many more topics on which you can find videos for like YT has grown to be the second-largest search engine to be used next to google. I thought myself python from it and it is amazing.

So, without talking a lot about why I love youtube so much, it is a great platform depending on how you use it and not procrastinate (it has happened to me a lot so don't worry it's normal, it's a social platform it is made for us to procrastinate) but if put in good use it is nothing but an infinite mine of knowledge.

Sololearn

Free Codecademy alternative

image.png

I really like sololearn for its mobile app but recently not going on it anymore. I am loving how many free text-based courses this platform has (and that's I prefer it over Codecademy). Its interface is simple and easy to understand and it also has gamification of the task and making you want to open the app daily, the gamification is not as aggressive as Duolingo's but there it's hidden and you wouldn't even notice it. But that being said the courses are the best they go really in-depth about the topic in a short and sweet manner.

Udemy

The best one for video watchers

image.png

If you are a beginner, this is the best way for you to learn you have loads of video courses on any topic you wanna learn about, just search for that topic and you find many courses by professionals about that topic and they also have really great discounts all the time getting great professional courses for cheap as hell as there is always some offer going around.

Honerable Mentions

These were great but not as significant as those mentioned above

The official documentation of the language I am trying to learn

These in my opinion are the best place to start learning whatever you desire especially you are trying to learn some new language or framework which does not have many other resources on things mentioned above like there is a new javascript framework coming out on a daily basis and your boss thinks and always runs behind the shiny new thing then... your out of luck my friend.

Books

Reading books on the language you want to learn is also a really good way to learn code. I am not good at reading books but as I am in college we have textbooks about code so I can say they do really impact a lot as they are the only material we have before the lecture about that particular topic.

Conclusion

as you can see most resources here are based on reading and it is one of the most important skills as you are going to mostly read code, documentation, other people's undocumented code till your eyes go red and you become blind (it's an exaggeration, please don't kill me!!).

Top comments (0)