DEV Community

Cover image for Developing Software as a Student With A.D.H.D and High functioning Autism
Nicholas Blackburn
Nicholas Blackburn

Posted on

Developing Software as a Student With A.D.H.D and High functioning Autism

Hello, My name is Nicholas Blackburn and I am currently a student software developer with ADHD and High Functioning Autism and this is my first post yay :}.

You might be asking yourself what is Autism and what it has to do with developing software.

Well, first Autism is a spectrum disorder. This refers to a broad range of conditions characterized by challenges with social skills, repetitive behaviors, speech, and nonverbal communication.

Secondly, Autism affects the intensity of my interests like how much I love developing software (I really do love developing software and the show Steven universe!), and my ability to communicate with other human beings/humanoid robots {which is really difficult sometimes and I'm surprised that I'm writing this ;) } but besides the communication bit the software development bit is fantastic ;}. I enjoy being the creator and having the computer run and enable me to create amazing programs.

Lastly, I don't know where I was going with is but I Know everyone and anyone should not let their disabilities hold them back but they leverage their abilitys to improve their life.

Top comments (0)