DEV Community

rike
rike

Posted on

Picking a New Language

It's surreal that I've been working as a software developer for more than a year and that I've been working towards this goal for three. In that time span, I've gone through the typical semi-self taught cycle: basic Python tutorials, to tutorial hell, and ultimately (and regretfully) a bootcamp. The past two years have been strictly JavaScript/TypeScript (mixed in with light Solidity here and there) and I've finally reached the point where I'm comfortable with my skillsets and that I want more. So that leads me here, picking a new language to learn and ideally get really really good at.

1. Go (golang?)

Go
Everyone knows what Go is right? That's why until today I never really bothered looking into what the language is really capable of. Yes, I'm embarrassed, but I'm going to go ahead and blame my bootcamp for not putting me on. I was pretty much told that I could achieve everything with JS code but maybe they could've mentioned that things could be done with better efficiency through other means. But upon my 3 minute research, it seems like there are perks in using the language to create API's and I'm assuming servers... And to be fair, I've always enjoyed doing backend work. Idk, something about getting the connection through is like a shot of dopamine.

2. Rust

Rust
(I honestly expected the Rust site to be futuristic looking but it's so meh)
Okay, this one is kind of cheating since I've actually done deep dives into Rust previously. The biggest issue was that I was thrown into an established Rust repository and could never figure it out from there - so I bailed. But lo and behold, there's uses to Rust outside of blockchain (sarcasm, I promise). But to be fair, if I do go back to Rust, it's going to be for blockchain development - maybe sprinkle in some compiler code for funsies.

3. C++

C++
(I'm sure they don't need care, but you could really tell the age of this language through the site design)
The only reason I'm considering this is because of how much video games I play. Well actually it's not like an unhealthy amount, but it definitely holds a share of my time. It's also such an old language that learning it could probably benefit my overall understanding of languages in general? I'm not sure. But do I really want to work for Riot?

4. CSS

(Is there even an official CSS website?)
Yes, this is a joke. Partially. I couldn't think of a fourth language so why not continue improving my skills in the areas I'm already working in. There's always room to try and become the next coming of Kevin Powell. And I hate it when I'm working right now and spamming a bunch of random things into my classes and praying that one of them works out.

These are just my thoughts out loud. I promise I'll document whatever path I decide to go down and if I don't I'll pay you in my social token.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
elasticrash profile image
Stefanos Kouroupis

Rust is not obviously specifically for blockchain development it's just used more in those areas, because it's easier to enforce good coding practises and patterns than C++. It also has a shorter learning curve, so you can just pick up people that are interested in it and train them. C++ developers although not rare, would probably not work in a crypto start up, as the good ones are mostly well seasoned developers.

As far as C++ is concerned the link you provided is not the official website, the official one (if there is one) would be isocpp.org/