DEV Community

Nikita Koselev
Nikita Koselev

Posted on

Learning natural languages, IT way

IT related jobs are one of the most interesting and best paid in the world. Unfortunately, these come at a huge cost. Which one? Well, staying up to date with IT news may consume all your time. It also might be not-so-easy to stay mentally healthy using your "numerical" part of the brain all the time.

I have found a way to exercise the “artistic” part of the brain, just to let the "numerical" one get some rest. How? Natural language studies.

OK, “language studies” is a terrific idea, but how can I find time given I work in IT, which means I spend a good chunk of my free time studying IT?

My “magic” answer is… IT meetups in the natural language of your choice.

For example, I am interested in Spanish. I like the language, I like the culture, I like “la comida” :)

I have discovered that Codurance consultancy not only does meetups in English, but also does meetups in Spanish. Joining is easy, attendance is free. Attendees speak Spanish, but you are welcome to ask questions in English. Also, everybody is very friendly and will not go crazy over your grammatical mistakes ;)

Well, now you know my secret. Now there is no “I have nobody to practice with” excuse.

Many thanks to @Ignacio Saporiti. His “Primera kata con Go” meetup last week was absolutely amazing.

You can subscribe to more Codurance meetups (both English and Spanish ones) here: https://www.codurance.com/events/

Many thanks to the @Codurance team for sharing with the community.

Top comments (0)