DEV Community

Cover image for Working with Vercel
NikitaL2022
NikitaL2022

Posted on

Working with Vercel

Vercel is a platform for frontend frameworks and static sites and it is used to integrate content, commerce, and database. It takes care of difficult things such as deploying, scaling, and serving personalized content.

Getting started with ist-vercel-demo

  • First, you will need to connect your Github account to your Vercel account because this allows Vercel to access your repositories from Github and import them.

  • Then, I had to do git clone this repo and add a .env file.

  • After, I ran npm install and vercel dev.

Image description

  • One thing I was having trouble with was in the Project Settings of the certain project, the output directory was incorrect. Vercel couldn't find the output directory. I was able to figure out that is uses dist, so I changed it to that.

Image description

Image description

  • Check here for my project.

I was having some trouble deploying the 11ty site, so I was unable to show an final product. Once I fix it, I will show my work.

Developer Experience

  • With what worked, I can see the Vercel is much easier and simpler to use compared to Github.

Top comments (0)