DEV Community

Bo
Bo

Posted on

Anyone else keen to try Jetbrains Fleet?

Jetbrains announced today they are developing a completely new IDE from scratch called Jetbrains Fleet.

I've always liked their IDEs but hated how slow and resource heavy they were, especially on laptops, and thus stuck with VSCode.

The new one is looking really nice and fast, though.

Announcement: https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=29377412
Homepage: https://www.jetbrains.com/fleet/
Quick overview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ow5kdhDa_pk

P.S.: Not affiliated with them, just excited to try it.

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
turry profile image
Turry

I’ve registered for fleet too, just to find a way to ditch VSCode (I love it but…I also don’t love it).

Collapse
 
turry profile image
Turry

I just got the email right now lol, they have accepted me to the waiting list.

Collapse
 
noncototient profile image
Bo

Yeah I got an email saying I am on the list, too. When I saw the email I thought it said I was accepted into the alpha testing, but it was just a confirmation lol.

Wesbos got access to the app already, and turns out you can't change theme, font, or even plugins at the moment. So it isn't super useful at the moment.

Thread Thread
 
turry profile image
Turry

I don’t know mate, I just need an excuse to leave VSCode, I’ll officially leave it next year March or May.

Thread Thread
 
noncototient profile image
Bo

Why so eager to leave VSCode?

Thread Thread
 
turry profile image
Turry

Well, I never really liked Microsoft products apart from their OS and I’ve been a jetbrains user since 2019 and I only started using VSCode because it was lightweight and multi-language support.

Collapse
 
defman profile image
Sergey Kislyakov

Hmm, IDEA on M1 has been pretty fast for me. I wonder how fast Fleet is going to be if I make it into the alpha preview.

Collapse
 
noncototient profile image
Bo

I registered for the alpha version, hopefully get approved soon