DEV Community

Notch Revenue
Notch Revenue

Posted on

Best Stripe revenue apps for the Mac notch and menu bar (2026)

Checked on each vendor's own page on 2026-11-06. This is an honest comparison of eight Mac apps that put Stripe revenue in the notch or the menu bar—by price, sync cadence, where your key lives, and Intel support. No invented volumes.

Quick picks

  • Best calm one-time notch glance (Apple Silicon): Notch Revenue — US$19.99 once, local Keychain keys, sync about every two hours.
  • Best free / open source (Intel + Apple Silicon): MRRDock — MIT licence, many providers, universal binary.
  • Best if you also want iPhone: Revenotch — payments every 60 seconds by default; Pro is a one-time App Store unlock (shown as US$9.99 on the pricing page).
  • Best multi-source subscription notch: Notch Metrics — 16 sources; keys stay on their servers; $9/mo or $49/yr after a 7-day trial.

How we compared

Four columns only, each taken from the vendor page (or marked not stated when the page is silent):

  1. Price model — one-time vs subscription vs free.
  2. Sync cadence — how often payments or MRR refresh.
  3. Local vs server — where the Stripe (or other) key and revenue numbers live.
  4. Intel support — Apple Silicon only, or Intel too.

Comparison table

App Form Price model Sync cadence Local vs server Intel Notes
Notch Revenue Notch (virtual notch on non-notch Macs) US$19.99 one-time; unlimited Macs (per-device activation) At launch + about every 2 h; manual refresh; paused while asleep or quit Local — restricted read-only key in Keychain; revenue never sent to Notch servers No — Apple Silicon only, macOS 14+ Stripe, multi-account; no free trial stated on the product page
Notch Metrics Notch $9/mo or $49/yr; 7-day free trial, no card "16 sources, live"; FAQ: fetched by their servers "on a schedule" (exact interval not stated) Server — encrypted key stays on their servers No — Apple silicon · macOS 14+ 16 sources; layout synced across Macs
NotchStack Notch / floating notch €4.99 early bird (first 50, code EARLYBIRD) then €9.99 one-time; 3 Macs; 3-day free trial Page says "live in the notch"; exact interval not stated Local — read-only Stripe/Dodo keys in Keychain; no account Page says "any Mac with macOS 14"; Intel chip explicitly not stated 19 tools; revenue is one of them
Revenotch Notch (+ bar under menu bar) + iPhone Free tier (1 source) + Pro one-time via App Store (US$9.99 on pricing page) Payments every 60 s default (30 s–10 min); MRR/charts every 15 min (5–60 min) Local — "No server, no account"; keys in Keychain Yes — Apple Silicon and Intel, macOS 14+ Stripe, Lemon Squeezy, Dodo, Paddle, Polar
IndieBar Menu bar One-time Solo $19.99 (launch; list $29); Team $59.99 Sync interval not stated Local — local database, AES-256 keys, zero telemetry Intel not stated; macOS menu bar app Stripe, RevenueCat, GA4; Pulse Score
Cash Dashboard Lite Menu bar One-time $19.99 (Mac App Store) Page markets "Real-Time Revenue"; exact interval not stated Local — direct to api.stripe.com; key in Keychain macOS 14.0+; Intel not stated on the marketing page Stripe only, multi-account
Slap Alert Menu bar + sticky note per sale One-time US$19 (+tax); 7-day trial Stripe/Paddle every 30 s; RevenueCat every 1 min; Shopify webhook ~30 s; App Store daily Mostly local; Shopify/RevenueCat notes use a small Slap Alert relay macOS 14+; Intel not stated Many providers including Stripe
MRRDock Menu bar Free, open source (MIT) Stripe polling interval not stated (exchange rates cached 12 h; update check every 6 h) Local — no account, no server; keys in Keychain; GET-only Yes — universal binary, macOS 14+ Many providers + custom endpoint

Footnote (not in the table): NotchBuddy and MRRbar show up in older roundups; this piece sticks to the eight apps above with fresh page checks.

Notch apps

Notch Revenue

Notch Revenue is a native Swift menu-bar app that keeps today's and this month's Stripe revenue in the MacBook notch (or a virtual notch on displays without one). A restricted read-only Stripe key stays in the macOS Keychain; revenue never leaves the Mac. Sync runs at launch and about every two hours, with manual refresh, and pauses while the Mac sleeps or the app is quit. New payments after the first import get a small confetti pop—historical imports do not. Pricing is US$19.99 one-time, Apple Silicon and macOS 14+ only, unlimited Macs activated individually. It does not claim real-time or instant push updates.

Notch Metrics

Sixteen sources, widgets in the notch, and a subscription ($9/month or $49/year) after a 7-day trial. Metrics are fetched by their servers on a schedule; the encrypted key stays on their side. Apple silicon and macOS 14+ only.

NotchStack

Nineteen tools in one notch shell; revenue from Stripe and Dodo is one of them. One-time pricing with an early-bird tier, three-day trial, local Keychain keys. Exact refresh interval is not stated. Runs on any Mac with macOS 14; Intel is not called out explicitly.

Revenotch

Five providers, optional iPhone Dynamic Island, free tier plus a one-time Pro unlock. Default payment poll every 60 seconds. Explicitly supports Apple Silicon and Intel. Local Keychain storage.

Menu-bar apps

IndieBar

One-time Solo/Team pricing, Pulse Score, Stripe/RevenueCat/GA4. Local database and zero telemetry. Sync cadence not stated on the homepage.

Cash Dashboard Lite

Stripe-only menu bar app at $19.99 one-time on the Mac App Store. Markets real-time revenue and sale notifications; exact poll interval not stated. Local Keychain key.

Slap Alert

Sticky-note alerts per sale across many providers. One-time US$19 with a 7-day trial. Fast Stripe/Paddle polling; some providers use a small relay.

MRRDock

Free MIT open-source menu bar aggregator. Universal binary. Local Keychain keys. Stripe poll interval not stated in the README snapshot we checked.

How to choose

  • Need Intel → Revenotch or MRRDock.
  • Need iPhone too → Revenotch.
  • Need $0 → MRRDock.
  • Want per-sale sticky alerts → Slap Alert.
  • Want a calm notch glance, one-time price, unlimited Macs, keys that never leave your machine → Notch Revenue.

Stripe key safety (any of these apps)

Use a restricted read-only Stripe key, never a secret key that can charge or refund. Stripe documents permissions at docs.stripe.com/keys/permissions-reference. Prefer apps that keep the key in the macOS Keychain and call Stripe directly from your Mac when that matches your threat model.

FAQ

What is the best Stripe revenue app for the Mac notch or menu bar?

It depends. Revenotch polls payments every 60 seconds and supports Intel and iPhone. Notch Metrics covers 16 sources on a subscription. NotchStack is a one-time multi-tool notch shell. Notch Revenue is a US$19.99 one-time Apple Silicon app that keeps keys and revenue on your Mac and refreshes about every two hours.

Which ones are one-time purchases?

Notch Revenue, NotchStack, IndieBar, Cash Dashboard Lite, Slap Alert, and Revenotch Pro. Notch Metrics is a subscription. MRRDock is free.

Which keep the key on my Mac?

Notch Revenue, NotchStack, Revenotch, IndieBar, Cash Dashboard Lite, Slap Alert (mostly), and MRRDock. Notch Metrics stores the encrypted key on its servers.

Do they work on Intel or Macs without a notch?

Revenotch and MRRDock state Intel support. Notch Revenue and Notch Metrics are Apple Silicon only. On Macs without a notch, Notch Revenue draws a virtual notch; NotchStack a floating notch; Revenotch a bar under the menu bar.


Try Notch Revenue if you want today's and this month's Stripe numbers in the notch without another dashboard tab—US$19.99 one-time, Apple Silicon, macOS 14+.

Top comments (0)