DEV Community

Otso Kurkela
Otso Kurkela

Posted on

Favourite Linux distro

Hi Linux users! Comment down Linux distribution that you like the most.
My favourite distro is Kali, because I do lot of penetration testin stuff. Kali has lot of excellent hacking software preinstalled. But it's not good distro for daily usage and normal programming stuff. For that, I like Linux Mint. It is easy to use and lightweight and powerful. So write your favourite distribution below!

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
_garybell profile image
Gary Bell

I use Ubuntu daily, and also for servers for the most part. I've got a couple of CentOS servers and Debian ones lying round.

I use Ubuntu because it's easy to get on with. Debian can be an interesting game to get things installed if there's funny dependencies, but Ubuntu seems to have resolved that. I also find using the desktop and server versions mean I don't have to remember two sets of commands (apt vs yum vs whatever) or locations to update things (like whether Apache is /etc/apache2 or /etc/httpd)

Collapse
 
ode42 profile image
Otso Kurkela

What makes pop os good?

Collapse
 
kretaceous profile image
Abhijit Hota

Ubuntu and I've been thinking of using Pop_OS for a while. 😄

Collapse
 
maxdevjs profile image
maxdevjs

My main distro is still Solus. I enjoy a lot Void, some love and hate with NixOS, Guix is appealing also because of Guile.

Collapse
 
preciouschicken profile image
Precious Chicken

Regolith. Efficiency of i3 window manager, with ease of Ubuntu.

Collapse
 
ode42 profile image
Otso Kurkela

Well, no, there is No any specific reason. I just like Kali, it is better known, has better tutorials. Why do you use Parrot over Kali?

Collapse
 
omenlog profile image
Omar E. Lopez

KDE Neon is my choice

Collapse
 
007lva profile image
luigi

Debian with the Liquorix kernel =)