DEV Community

Ogombo Collins
Ogombo Collins

Posted on

Why I Joined Dev?

I have no special reason as to why I have joined Dev, I am not a developer, software engineer or data engineer.

I just want to write anything that interests me, irks me or makes me wonder when I engage with people/staff/news offline and online.

That's it. Welcome to my world. I hope we get along, learn from each other, critique each other and most importantly have a good time when engaging with any of my writings.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
kalkwst profile image
Kostas Kalafatis

Hey there, welcome to our community! We're glad you're here. Please feel free to drop by our welcome thread and say hi. We'd love to get to know you and learn more about your interests and what you're currently working on. Don't be shy, we're a friendly bunch and we're always happy to welcome new members. Looking forward to seeing you around!

Collapse
 
rasheedmozaffar profile image
Rasheed K Mozaffar

Hey @kalkwst
I've seen from your profile that you are a senior .NET developer. I've been learning C# and Asp.Net for a year now and I'm heavily invested in improving my skillset within the field of .NET.
Do you have any advice or tips for me? And thanks in advance 🙏

Collapse
 
kalkwst profile image
Kostas Kalafatis

Well, from the top of my head, I have 3 advice.

  1. Start from the basics and build from there. Don't spread yourself too thin with C#, and containerization, and databases, and distributed architectures, as most of the newcomers try to do.
  2. Avoid LeetCode-esque challenges like the plague. They serve no real purpose other than a quick screening mechanism for companies.
  3. Find a mentor. Most importantly though, find a mentor whose teaching style matches your learning style.
Thread Thread
 
rasheedmozaffar profile image
Rasheed K Mozaffar

Thank you 💯😃

Collapse
 
ogombocollins profile image
Ogombo Collins

Thank you for the warm welcome.

Collapse
 
rasheedmozaffar profile image
Rasheed K Mozaffar

Welcome onboard Ogombo! 👋🏻