DEV Community

Cover image for My open source journey.
Ogunmisi Oluwafemi
Ogunmisi Oluwafemi

Posted on

My open source journey.

I started out my open source journey when I got a whatsapp link from @saintmalik for the open source community in Ado Ekiti.

At first I did not know what open source was about but with the help of several engagement and seminar from the community I got to know about what Open Source is all about.
We had an online session about benefits of contributing to Open Source, using Git as a version control system and how Github is used by developers to collaborate amongst themselves.

Open Source projects are projects whose implementation are readily and freely available for use and modification by anyone in the world. The source code of Open Source projects can be changed and contributed to by anyone willing to contribute to the project.

The Open Source challenge started on the 16th of August and it was fun all through. I was made to learn more about contributing to open source projects. This challenge gave me the opportunity to join an organization (Zero To Mastery) on Github after my first PR to their repo.

I learnt about forking repo, cloning repo, creating a new branch for a repo, pulling from upstream, pushing to the branch, merging and making pull requests.

Open source has a lot of benefit and I encourage you guys to participate in contributing to Open Source projects.

Thank you.

Top comments (0)