DEV Community

Olimpio
Olimpio

Posted on

Jekyll is slow... Liquid is awesome

I am learning Hugo... I love the way it is fast but its templating syntax is just horrible... Jekyll is slow compared to Hugo but Jekyll template syntax Liquid makes it fun to develop static sites using Jekyll... your thougths?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
vonas profile image
Jonas

Jekyll 4 is actually very fast. I've had the same sensation with Jekyll 3.8 when I was playing around with GitHub Pages (which hasn't upgraded to version 4 yet). It took around 4 seconds to build the site despite the fact that I only changed one file in an unmeaningful way.

What I did to resolve the problem was the following: I set my JEKYLL_ENV environment variable to "development" and added a conditional in my Gemfile which included jekyll v4 when I'm developing and github-pages otherwise. Then I ran bundle install to update my local packages, et voilà – Making changes now rebuilds the site pretty much instantly. I only have to make sure I don't use any new features of Jekyll 4 while GitHub doesn't support it, but that's a compromise I am happy to make.

Side note: I also use live.js so my site refreshes when I hit CTRL+S.

Collapse
 
rnrnshn profile image
Olimpio

I haven't heard about live.js I'll give it a shot...