DEV Community

Joshua
Joshua

Posted on

REGAINING CONFIDENCE AS A PROGRAMMER.

Recently, I was working on a project that requires knowledge of HTML, CSS, AND JAVASCRIPT. It was an easy project from the beginning, but when I started coding it, it was not as easy as I plan out, especially in the Js part

I tried all I can to rectify the problem, but it was not as easy as I thought and after hours of trying and no good result, my confidence began to go down. So, I decided to relearn some concepts in Js even though I knew them before. After going through some videos on my laptop, I decided to go over it the next day and was able to solve it.

Am sure it must have happened to you as a programmer.

The question is, what do you do when it happens to you? How do I cope? You sleep, wake up and try again right, what about after that and no progress, what next??

The answer is PULL BACK AND REGROUP

Don’t try to maintain failure at a high-level, is going to hurt your confidence badly. Continuing at a level where you are failing is going to hurt you.

Let’s say you are working on a project and you could not move past level 7, after hours of trying to resolve level 7 and no progress you pullback and come to level 4 (where you are confident in, or any level you are confident in) and regroup from there, learn some concept again, then from their move on to level 5, 6 and suddenly you will surpass level 7 and move upward. It isn’t a weakness to pull back and regroup, especially when your confidence is involved. As you build again the confidence you will acquire will be much more grounded. The experience of your failure will guide you and help you avoid the pitfall. It will make you wiser. CONFIDENCE IS DIFFICULT TO GET, SO DON’T LOSE IT THOUGHTLESSLY.

Confidence - that information that you can pull off and follow through on something difficult, that information in most cases will be your only friend when everything else is gone and if you treat him right, make him, your best friend.

Top comments (0)