DEV Community

Oliver Davies
Oliver Davies

Posted on • Originally published at oliverdavies.uk on

Write once, manage forever

I built my Build Configs tool because I only wanted to write a file once and re-use it instead of writing it over again or copying and pasting between projects.

Having standardised templates for different languages and project types, I can easily set up new projects and get them running in a few minutes.

If I need to add a feature or fix a bug, I can do it once in the Build Configs tool and easily regenerate the configuration files for all projects, and they'll all get the updated files.

There's no "I need to copy this feature from project A or this bug fix from project B." when starting on project C.

As I only work on fixed-price engagements, it's in my interest to be able to create and maintain projects in a fast and efficient manner.

The Build Configs tool enables me to do that.

P.S. Are you still using Drupal 7 and don’t know what’s involved to upgrade to Drupal 10? Book a Drupal 7 upgrade consultation call or an upgrade roadmap.

Top comments (0)