DEV Community

Cover image for In the Service of Humanity - An Anecdote by Paschal Kenechukwu Oruche
Paschal Kenechukwu Oruche
Paschal Kenechukwu Oruche

Posted on

In the Service of Humanity - An Anecdote by Paschal Kenechukwu Oruche

I know this is where I write about technical stuff, however, just decided to unconventionally publish this on here.

Volunteering and community service have been an integral part of my life. With a passion for serving my community and improving the lives of those around me, I have dedicated my time and skills to several organizations over the years.

One of my earliest experiences with volunteering was during my time as the Vice President of Rotaract Wisconsin International University College, Ghana; As a member of the Rotaract club of WIUC sponsored by the Rotary club of Accra East under District 9102, I served on several ad-hoc committees, contributing to the eradication of the Polio endemic and raising autism awareness. I also engineered a signature project, "The First-Ever WIUC Hackathon," aimed at promoting basic education and literacy.

WIUC Code Fair - Hackathon

My commitment to community service continued during my National Youth Service Corps year, where I served as IT & Education, CDS President. With a creative approach towards community development service, myself and my team implemented three out of five service projects, including outreach and sensitization on youth inclusion in societal development. I also oversaw the conduct of the 2019 general elections for registered voters at my assigned Polling unit (on of the polling units in Lagos-Mainland) as the Presiding Officer.

NYSC 2018-2019

NYSC

Image description

It's worth mentioning that my experience in volunteering has not been limited to my home country, Nigeria. I'm also serving as the Lead Web Developer at Positive Planet US (promoting inclusive and sustainable economic growth, employment and decent work for all), an international organization based in the United States. In this role, I collaborate with creative designers, content creators, business strategists, the PR team, and other developers to maintain, expand, and scale Positive Planet US's website.

As an Executive Board Member and Public Relations Officer of ADVISE Volunteer Ghana, I served as the mouthpiece of the organization to the public, disseminating information within and outside the organization, notifying members of meetings, and negotiating terms for the organization with other entities.

ADVISE Volunteer Project

My dedication to community service extends to my work as Lead Tech Officer at TechSAH - Technological Support for Aiding Humanity, where I built the MVP (a platform for connecting the most vulnerable individuals in the society to pro-bono services and other humanitarian aids, with special focus on SGBV) for the TECHSAH movement in tackling access to humanitarian needs, especially to the most vulnerable in local communities.

As a Web Developer for YouthSpark Africa, I developed and managed the new website for YouthSpark Pan Africa, ensuring that the website was up-to-date with information on programs and activities, maintaining unique customizations and quality, and ensuring that the website's security protocols and measures were up-to-date.

Food Bank Initiative

Food Bank Initiative

FBNI

To sum up, I would say that my commitment to volunteerism and community service is of an innate fashion and driven intrinsically. My work in economic empowerment, civil rights and social action, and poverty alleviation has made a positive impact on the lives of those in my local community and across boarders. In the service of humanity, I believe that I have demonstrated and will continue to demonstrate that through volunteering and community service, we can all make a difference.

Thank you for reading my supposed, 'Anecdote' up to this point! 😊

Top comments (0)