DEV Community

Cover image for How Technology and Programming Help My Hikes
Out of Your Comfort Zone
Out of Your Comfort Zone

Posted on

How Technology and Programming Help My Hikes

I love hiking, especially in the mountains. There's something magical about being in the middle of nature, tackling challenging trails, and admiring breathtaking views. But let's be real, hiking in the mountains isn't just about throwing a backpack on and heading out. Luckily, technology and programming are here to give a helping hand, making everything safer and more enjoyable.

Navigation and Route Planning

First of all, who hasn't gotten lost on a trail? I've been there, but now I use GPS and apps like Google Maps, AllTrails, and Gaia GPS. These apps are lifesavers—literally! They show me detailed maps, route options, and even monitor my progress in real-time. This way, I can plan my hikes properly and avoid ending up in the middle of nowhere.

Health and Fitness Monitoring

I'm a fan of smartwatches and wearables. I have a Garmin that's my inseparable companion on the trails. It measures my heart rate, counts my steps, and even calculates the calories I burn. It's like having a digital personal trainer on my wrist, helping me keep the pace and avoid overexertion.

Weather Forecasting and Environmental Conditions

There's nothing worse than being caught off guard by a storm in the middle of the mountains. That's why I rely on weather apps like Weather Underground and Windy. They alert me to any weather changes and help me prepare for whatever comes. This way, I can focus on the hike without worrying too much about the weather.

Communication in Remote Areas

I've been to places where the cell phone doesn't work at all. In these situations, having a satellite communication device like the Garmin inReach is essential. These devices allow me to send SOS messages and share my location, ensuring I can call for help if needed. Safety first, always!

Smart Equipment and Drones

And then there are drones! They are amazing for exploring inaccessible areas and taking spectacular photos of the landscapes. Additionally, boots with sensors and backpacks with solar chargers are technologies that make hiking more comfortable and safe. It's modernity at our service!

Best Countries for Mountain Hiking

Now, if there's one thing I love, it's exploring trails in different countries. My favorites are: Nepal, New Zealand, Switzerland, Peru, Japan and South Korea.

Top comments (0)