DEV Community

Kevan Y
Kevan Y

Posted on

My first contribution to a open sources

Intro

For release 0.2, we are participating in the Hacktoberfest. I started to search for some issue with the label "good first issue" and I end up with one issue in the WordPress repo.
The issue was [Bug] Remove button styling from "no results" text #215. I started to ask if I could work on it. Then once the issue got assigned to me I started to work on it. The most challenging part of this issue was to learn Vue.js. With my background with other frameworks, the way how Vue.js works look like React.js but the syntax was different.

First I fork the repo, then clone it and install all packages needed to run in my local.
After being able to run my code locally I started to play around to familiarize myself with the app.
I started to locate the component for the search bar. After finding it I started to think about the logic of how am I fixing this bug. The way to fix this bug is to check if the query returns something, if it doesn't show "No image results for "query"." otherwise show the image.
I also removed the old no image button stated in the issue requirement.

After the issue was fixed. I run some automation testing once everything passes. I can commit my code and submit a pull request PR.

I had some issues where openverse.pot file using my absolute path instead of a relative path. One of the code reviewers reverts that file. This issue ended up being a bug in windows Fix Windows full path in .pot file #290.

Conclusion

The bug wasn't something complex, but the learning outcome from this issue was very useful. It gave me confidence that I can learn some other framework fast.

Top comments (0)