DEV Community

Panda Quests
Panda Quests

Posted on

How did you learn how to program?

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
polluterofminds profile image
Justin Hunter

In 1996, I learned HTML. Loved it, wanted to keep learning to code. But I was in middle school, and things like baseball and basketball stole my attention. But I never stopped loving tech and the power behind code. So, after high school, I tried to learn to code again. I stumbled so many times along the way. I tried Rails and JavaScript and Python. I tried app development when it first became a thing. I just couldn't get over the hump. Everything was so abstract. I needed a practical reason to code.

That reason finally came to me years later when I was earning my MFA in Creative Writing. I wanted a more secure and private place for my writing than Google Docs. So I decided to build a solution for myself. That was the practical reason I'd been waiting for. So, in my early 30s, I finally learned to code. I built Graphite Docs and have continued coding since.

The actual how behind learning: YouTube, Stackoverflow, and Udemy. Those were my go-to solutions for learning how to program.

Don't give up, even when you get frustrated.

Collapse
 
v6 profile image
🦄N B🛡

graphitedocs.com

This, this is what I'm talking about when I tell people that The Cloud has lied to them about its control trade-offs.

I just had some major privilege management issues with two cloud hosted live document collaboration platforms today.

I don't have time for a demo at the moment, but you had better believe I'm bringing this up with our KM guys.

Collapse
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

Haha.... Sounds too familiar

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt
  • By struggling with Anki-exported *.csv (without knowing about Python CSV module).
  • Creating UserScripts and Stylish
Collapse
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

Is UserScript a language?

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

It's a cross-browser way to inject JavaScript into selected websites you don't own, e.g. via Chrome Extension (e.g. TamperMonkey).

Stylish is a cross-browser way to inject CSS.

Thread Thread
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

Awesome. Sounds nice. Will look into it