DEV Community

Pankaj Patel
Pankaj Patel

Posted on

πŸ€” Do you use Redux, if not what do you use?

I don't hate Redux but you need to maintain a lot of files.

This makes me cringe but seems like not-enough reason to remove redux completely πŸ€·β€β™‚οΈ

I like the new global state management with Context and useState/useReducer

What do you guys use for global state management? and why?

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
darthbob88 profile image
Raymond Price

My last project just used Context, since all I needed to do was very basic CRUD operations. I'm kinda considering using MobX for my next project, but that's going to wait until I'm on more boring tech.

Collapse
 
pankajpatel profile image
Pankaj Patel

That's nice, same for me regarding the Contexts.

MobX can be a good alternative. I have never tried it, or to say, never needed to try it.

Thanks for the answer

Collapse
 
seanolad profile image
Sean

I use redux when it's an easier option.

Collapse
 
pankajpatel profile image
Pankaj Patel

I have another question, when is Redux an easier option? I am guessing it re one of the last ones for you?

Collapse
 
caseycole589 profile image
Casey Cole • Edited

global variable and a proxy its one line and requires not setup or any imports.

Collapse
 
pankajpatel profile image
Pankaj Patel

Well it is simple enough, I am not comfortable putting anything on Global space. I guess if you are using this way, I would love to see some code example

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

I use Redux. If you want to cut down on general state you could use something like GraphQL.