DEV Community

PaperDrago
PaperDrago

Posted on

Project 1: Unit Testing

This assignment started out easily enough. I was confident when I first started since I had already a decent foundation on Git and some of the git commands that were most used. The actual git/github portion of the assignment was ultimately really easy, and I got to use the revert command that I rarely touch. 
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Ultimately this felt like a much more difficult assignment than I initially predicted. It felt like a nice refresher on Java programming but I honestly spent too much of my summer with Python so I struggled a good amount. That and I hadn’t taken a formal programming course in roughly two years didn’t help me. It was definitely an experience but I am comforted in knowing that the purpose of this assignment wasn’t the code itself but the utilization of git and github.
I think it was helpful that I ended up using vs code for this, and running distro through it for ubuntu. It's easy to use and it has a lot of functionality that makes looking at branches and commits really easy. I bet there are more efficient ways to do this but this works for now so I'll explore it a little more as I progress through this class.
What more concerns me is just the act of pulling requests and working as a team, because it's one thing to know how to use github for your own projects and another thing to use it with a team. I think there could be a lot of friction and a lot of problems if the team isn’t careful with their resets and such.

After finishing the project with my team, I think I was a little too nervous at the start for what we actually ended up doing. Our team dynamic isn’t exactly talkative but problems and questions get responded to very quickly and efficiently. I’m especially pleased that for a group of 8 we had very little issues with finishing the work in a fairly timely manner. We had some small hiccups with assignment organization and formatting but those were minor and fairly easily solved.
At most, the worst part was that beginning part with setting up team roles, meetings, and ensuring people were clear with their roles. Otherwise, it was very easy with the actual coding aspects of the project. Some simple unit tests and some minor documentation were really the only thing that was required so I was pretty happy.
Personally I tried to finish this project fairly early on so I did most of the tests in a day… but I forgot to do the pull request and only saved it on my machine. So, when I remembered that I had to upload it to github I quickly did a merge request and it was validated relatively quickly, I think 1 day or so.
For the final finishing touches I just gave an alert on our teams and then fixed my mistakes and did another pull request. Overall, I think my team did well, even though I didn’t really talk to them other than the one time on Tuesday as a part of our team meeting. Though, I do appreciate that one of the other group members set up another meeting time on Thursday for support if need be.

Top comments (0)