DEV Community

Cover image for Deciding on a new career path at 34
John Doe
John Doe

Posted on

Deciding on a new career path at 34

After 5 years of commercial banking front-office, a further 5 years as a business consultant, and a few more years overlapping as a small business owner, I've decided to pick-up coding as a new career path.
Luckily by this time I started a family, the kids are (almost) old enough to go to kindergarten, and I'm almost financially free as my small business is running on its own and generating a fair bit of cash flow.

Exactly 40 days ago I started learning Python with Codecademy and the Python Crash Course book, and have made decent progress so far considering that I can currently dedicate about 2 hours a day.
My first stand-alone project is a functional -although not complete- blackjack CLI game. It still needs some more functionality added to it, but the basics are they and they work without throwing errors.

Now I must decide which path to follow next: go further into backend dev or start a new path, front end dev.
The main issue is that I really don't know what kind of work I would like to do. Don't know if I want to get a job or do freelancing work. What I do know is that I don't want a full time desk job, I've been there for too long and it would feel like a major step back.

Next steps:

  • complete the course on data structures and algorithms
  • finish up the projects in Python Crash Course (there are 3, a game in pygame, a data visualization project in matplotlib + pandas, and finally a website in django). Great book btw.

Top comments (0)