DEV Community

Marco Pasqua
Marco Pasqua

Posted on

Releasing my First Tachiyomi Contribution

Hi everyone, if you've been reading my blog posts about Tachiyomi, then you would have known that in my last blog post I created a pull request for the issue I was working on for Tachiyomi's website. All I had to do was wait for the repo owner to accept or request a change to the contribution I made. Well, they got back to me and did request a few changes to make things clearer.

What Changes were Requested

These are the two requests:

As you can see from the links, they're both very simple changes that I had to make.

Working on the Requested Changes

After I read through the requests, and asked a question to clear up some confusion on the first request. I got to work on updating my contribution to match them. I continued my work in the same branch from my previous contribution and once I as done, I committed it. The repo owner, then accepted my contribution and had it merged with the website. You can see this change right now on their website right now. I enjoyed working on this contribution and I'm looking forward to perhaps continuing to contribute to Tachiyomi in the future.

What About the Android App?

If you recall I was also working on an issue for their Android app. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get past the previous issue I faced, which was the duplicate description from when the Markdown function was used. The repo owner did tell me what I would have to update for it to properly work, but I unfortunately had a hard time trying to do so, I didn't really understand how I would write out in the code. I tried looking it up, but couldn't find much. I did also look at how the developers used the Markdown function in their own code, and tried replicating it but with no success. I think that this was probably due to me still not knowing enough about Kotlin and how it works. So unfortunately, this was an issue that I was not able to complete. I'm hoping that maybe in the future, once I've used Kotlin enough and become familiar with it I can create a contribution for the issue. But for now this is something that I wasn't able to complete and will require a lot more practice than I anticipated, as I bit off more than I could chew.

Overall

Moving past the unfortunate news, I'm glad that at I have a couple things that I could take away from this. The most notable being that I now have a general knowledge of Kotlin now, one which I for sure have to practice more with. I also was able to make a small contribution to Tachiyomi, which is certainly a start to what I initially planned to do with Tachiyomi.

So for now, I'll end it off here. I appreciate you all for following my Tachiyomi contribution journey, and I'll catch you all in the next blog post.

Top comments (0)