DEV Community

Dimitrios Desyllas
Dimitrios Desyllas

Posted on

Is good idea to use jira task on the branch I am working for?

On my job I work on we use git flow. Once it comes to resolve a task I use the task ticket as a branch name for example:

git flow feature start PROJECT-1234
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

But this approach is frowned upon CTO because makes him hard to understand the feature or bugfix that I was resolving. In my opinion I think is good because it provides a valid pointer and to somewhere to look more in detail on what I was doing and what I was tasked upon, whilst having a no-brainer on how to name the branch.

So do you think that my approach aid a lot on team into merging my changes and understand what I was doing or it actually makes it harder?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
kegesch profile image
Jonas Geschke

I think both your opinion and theirs are valid. That's why I like to name my branches like PROJECT-1234-small-description.